Energy ministers from the nine countries that comprise the North Seas Energy Cooperation (NSEC) group along with the European Commission have pledged to build out to at least 260GW of offshore wind capacity by mid-century.

The still non-binding commitment made at a meeting in Dublin by Belgium, Ireland, Denmark, France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden would represent more than 85% of the EU’s current target of 300GW by 2050.