EU countries surrounding the Baltic Sea and the European Commission have signed the ‘Baltic Sea Offshore Wind Declaration of Intent’ with the aim of speeding up the offshore wind expansion in the region by closely coordinating maritime spatial planning, grid development, and support mechanisms.

Some government representatives from Poland, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Latvia, Germany and Sweden were physically present for the signing ceremony that took place during the Pomeranian Offshore Wind Conference in Szczecin, Poland.