China’s provinces have slammed the brakes on renewable energy development after a hectic two-year installation dash, with almost a third of regional governments suspending approvals for new projects in 2020.

As provinces unveil their annual wind and solar development plans, ten local governments said they would restrict new developments. They include the inland provinces of Anhui, Henan, Shaanxi, Tianjin, Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia, and coastal regions with offshore wind portfolios – Jiangsu, Guangdong, Hebei, and Shandong.